Holly Holm and Danny Romero punch their way into N.M. Sports Hall of Fame today

Enchantment Sports

Holly Holm and Danny Romero, two of the most well-known fighters in New Mexico history, are among seven inductees being announced this morning at the Albuquerque Convention Center.

The Class of 2019 will be honored at a banquet on April 5, at the Convention Center.

The 47th class was chosen by the 23-person New Mexico Sports Hall of Fame Board, which includes Enchantment Sports editor in chief Mark Smith.

The inductees are:

Alan Branch – A football star at Cibola High School and the University of Michigan. Branch played for 11 seasons, which included two Super Bowls with the New England Patriots.

Carolyn Thompson – An All-State player in basketball and volleyball at Hobbs High School. She went on to be the all-time leading scorer in Texas Tech women’s basketball history and a three-time All-American.

Danny Romero – The Albuquerque native was a three-time World Champion world champion in three different weight divisions.

Danny Romero
Danny Romero

Holly Holm – A former UFC Women’s Bantamweight Champion and a multiple world champion in boxing in three weight classes.

Rob Evans – A star basketball player at Hobbs High and New Mexico State who coached Division I men’s basketball for 49 years.

Nick Pino – A 1963 graduate of Santa Fe St. Michael’s, 7-feet, 1-inch “Nick the Stick” was one of the greatest basketball players in state history and a star at Kansas State. Pino recently passed away at age 75.

Jimmy Collins – A two-time All-American at New Mexico State, and a leader on the Aggies’ Legendary Final Four squad in 1970. He was head coach at the University of Illinois at Chicago for 14 years, retiring in 2010.

For more information on the inductees, see this link.


Leave a Reply