Love or Hate? 2019-2020 Lobo Men’s Basketball Schedule Released

Enchantment Sports Staff

 

Ah, February.

The month of amour.

But for University of New Mexico Lobo basketball fans, it could also be the month of a moron.

Even two.

The 2019-2020 MWC men’s basketball schedule was released today and the game that Lobo Fan really cares about is February 19th when newly-hired Nevada basketball coach and former Lobo basketball coach and heartthrob Steve Alford makes his return to Dreamstyle Arena.

And with him his own little Cupid, ex-Lobo head coach Craig Neal.

alford2

For many delusional Lobo fans the love affair with St. Stevie, the patron saint of Lobo basketball regular season victories and first-round choke jobs (Thanks Mike Carlyle), never ended. Their hearts are brimming with hope that Alford will walk down the ramp wearing that stupid “Red Blazer” and Lobo MWC rings on his hand so they can genuflect and kiss.

Maybe, just maybe, he can come down hand-in-hand with UNM communications director Fran Mercogliano, each wearing one of the nets around their neck they once so proudly displayed to the collective eye-rolls of every media member in the conference. Windsor

Other Lobo fans, however, are looking forward to going to The Pit on February 19th to give Alford and assistant “Noodles” Neal something else. Like a long and resounding boo.

Noodles

 

While St. Stevie may not be used to the boos in the Pit, Noodles ought to be used to them. I’m curious — will he consider them “death threats?”

 

Here is the 2019-2020 MWC schedule for Lobo hoops… But other than February 19th, let’s be honest. Does anyone even care?

2019-20 MW Schedule
(home games BOLD)

Date Opponent
Wed., Dec. 4 BOISE STATE
Sat., Dec. 7 at Wyoming
Wed., Jan. 1 at San José State
Sat., Jan. 4 BYE
Wed., Jan. 8 FRESNO STATE
Sat., Jan. 11 AIR FORCE
Wed., Jan. 15 at Colorado State
Sat., Jan. 18 at UNLV
Wed., Jan. 22 SAN JOSÉ STATE
Sat., Jan. 25 at Nevada
Wed., Jan. 29 SAN DIEGO STATE
Sat., Feb. 1 at Fresno State
Wed., Feb. 5 BYE
Sat., Feb. 8 WYOMING
Wed., Feb. 12 at San Diego State
Sat., Feb. 15 UNLV
Wed., Feb. 19 NEVADA
Sat., Feb. 22 at Boise State
Wed., Feb. 26 at Air Force
Sat., Feb. 29 UTAH STATE

 


Lee Roy Lucero is an Albuquerque native, former editor of The Red Menace website and a staff writer with Enchantment Sports. For tips or story ideas, particularly about high school sports, contact Lee Roy Lucero at enchantmentsportsNM@gmail.com

Leave a Reply